You Got This!

Call # 650.1 PEN

Call # 650.1 PEN

OK, the 2016-2017 school year is going to be my year! I’m going to be all about reading and my goal is to spread my love of reading and great writing. Instead of being lazy after I read a book I’m going to immediately add it to my blog, whether I loved it or not (although the books I love I will talk about at length!) A book I just finished that I absolutely loved is You Got This! by Maya S. Penn. The first thing that drew me to the book was the subtitle: “Unleash your awesomeness, find your path, and change your world.” Mr. Vallee and I are all about the awesome, so of course I had to read it. The second thing I noticed is the cover; the author is wearing a crocheted scarf/necklace combination, a scarflace, I thought that this girl has style! I was doubly intrigued! Well, when I opened the book I was not disappointed. At the age of fifteen Maya has already accomplished tons of things. She began her own Etsy business when she was eight, making and selling headbands and hats. Her store has since expanded to include hats, t-shirts and jewelry and she started a nonprofit to help kids all over the world. Maya is also the youngest female to do back-to-back TED talks.

You Got This! is all about finding what inspires you and following your dreams. The book is broken down into three parts: “Unleash Your Awesomeness,” “Find Your Path,” and “Change Your World.” In the first part Maya talks about figuring out what makes you you; she talks about making a dream board to discover what inspires you and finding what interests you may want to pursue in the future. Then in the second section Maya talks about how to implement an idea you may have. The third part consists of interviews with young people ranging in age from nine to 24 who have done really cool things to help people, from starting recycling programs in their school districts to founding nonprofits.

I read this book the week before school started and it turned out to be the perfect inspiration for the new year. I was so excited to make the library the coolest place ever that I was on Pinterest every day finding tons of amazing ideas for displays, books clubs and various projects; I got so overwhelmed that I never actually did anything. In the book Maya talks about different kinds of thinkers and according to her I’m a “flip-flopper,” meaning I keep discovering new things I want to do, but I never settle down enough to actually accomplish anything. Thanks to Maya’s advice I’ve narrowed down the things that I want to focus on this year and I’m really excited about the year ahead!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

