All the Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry

Call # FIC BER

I read a lot of books that I love, but every once in a while I find one that I think is so amazing that I want to recommend it to everyone I know. Julie Berry’s All the Truth That’s In Me is that book for me right now. I think it is absolutely incredible in every way. It is gorgeously written and has a resilant heroine who grows stronger as the story goes on. There is also a mystery to unravel and complex characters to follow. On top of all that Berry poses a lot of questions to ponder that really made me think.
The novel is about Judith, who has recently come back to her town after having disappeared two years earlier. The story seems to take place in the 1800s and Roswell Station is a place where people live simply and everyone knows everyone. The night Judith disappeared her friend Lottie did as well and the townspeople are stunned and full of questions when Judith returns alone. However, Judith can’t provide any answers; she has been rendered mute since half of her tongue was cut out. Judith is immediately shunned upon her return; she is treated as ignorant and freakish and her mother blames her for her father’s death. The only friendly face in Roswell Station is Judith’s childhood friend Lucas. Before she vanished Judith thought that their friendship might blossom into something more; now Lucas is engaged to someone else. Judith thinks that her lot in life is to simply to exist and go unnoticed from day to day, but when her village is threatened she decides she has to do whatever she can to protect it. This may mean going back to the life she escaped from. The chain of events that follows opens Judith up to things she didn’t dream were posiible for her: an education, friendship and maybe even love.
I don’t want to write too much more about this book because there are so many surprises in it and I don’t want to give anything away. All I can say is that it’s one of the best books I have ever read and I can’t wait for Julie Berry’s next novel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Library Stuff, Reviews

Leave a Reply

