Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking by Erin Dionne

Call # FIC DIO

My non-reading New Year’s resolution is to learn new skills, especially ones that will help everyone with projects they’re working on.  The first thing that I wanted to learn was IMovie.  I always include links to book trailers in my reviews, so I thought why not make my own? Erin Dionne’s Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking was the perfect book to make my first trailer for.  The book has a terrific setting, the city of Boston, and the author puts her own spin on a real-life mystery that took place there.  On March 18, 1990 thirteen pieces of art were stolen from the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, including works by Rembrandt and Degas.  Dionne uses this event as the basis for the mystery in her novel.  Although no one in her family will admit it Moxie’s pretty sure her grandfather, Grumps, used to work for the mob.  When she meets a strange woman who wants Moxie to tell Grumps that someone named Sully Cupcakes is looking for him she knows she’s right.  Sully wants to know where Grumps hid his stuff, but Grumps has Alzheimer’s, so Moxie can’t get a straight answer from him.  With the help of her best friend Ollie and a scrapbook of old photos Moxie starts to put the pieces of the puzzle together.  I liked this book a lot; I love that the author takes a real mystery and uses her imagination to “solve” it.  I also really liked Moxie; she’s fresh and energetic and I hope this is the beginning of a series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

