Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Call # FIC MEY

Since I said that one of my main purposes for this blog was going to be to get myself out of my reading comfort zone I decided to start the new year off with a genre that I never read: science fiction.  Of course, I have to say that the book is a recommendation from Cassidy, who has amazing taste, so chances are I would like it.  The book is also based on a fairy tale, Cinderella, which also attracted me to the novel because I love it when authors put a new twist on a classic story.  The book is called Cinder and the author is Marissa Meyer.  I really enjoyed this novel and the best part is that it’s the first book in a series and I think I’m going to like the next book even more.  The book is set in a futuristic city called New Beijing which has been attacked by a deadly plague called letumosis.  Cinder is a cyborg who lives with her stepmother and two stepsisters after the death of her stepfather, who rescued her after a hovercraft accident years earlier and paid for her body to be restored.  As a result she has a mechanical hand and foot, a heart made of silicon and software makes up part of her brain.  She tries to hide the fact that she is a cyborg because they are looked upon as third-class citizens.  She is a mechanic who can fix robots, hovers and netscreens, which seem to be the future’s version of cell phones.  One day Prince Kai comes to the market where she works to see if she can fix his malfunctioning android, who seems to serve as his personal assistant and contains vital information.  This leads to Cinder becoming involved in the happenings at the palace, where she learns of the intentions of Queen Levana of the planet Luna to rule Earth by marrrying the prince.  Meanwhile, Cinder’s stepsister contracts letumosis, which leads to her stepmother volunteering Cinder for medical testing to find a cure for the plague.  Cinder meets a kind doctor and finds out there is much more to her background than she could have ever imagined.

I thought Cinder was incredibly involving.  I love the title character, especially her love for her stepsister despite how horridly her stepmother treats her.  Cinder also has a good friend in her android Iko, who is so funny, especially when she swoons over the handsome, charming prince.  I think Marissa Meyer has done a wonderful job of taking a story that everyone knows and making it into something brand-new.  The best thing is that the sequel is coming out next month, so I don’t even have to wait long to continue Cinder’s story.
Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

