The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Call # FIC STI

The next book on my Halloween reading list is The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.  Stiefvater wrote the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, which was very popular.  I started Shiver, the first book in that series and for some reason I couldn’t get into it.  After reading The Raven Boys I’m going to try it again.  I think Stiefvater concentrates on setting up an atmosphere and with Shiver I wanted to rush right into the plot.  With The Raven Boys the author sets the plot and the atmosphere up simultaneously.  We find out right away that Blue Sargent has been told by her mother, a psychic, that if she kisses her true love he will die.  The novel opens on St. Mark’s Eve, when Blue and her aunt Neeve, who is also a psychic, camp out in an abandoned churchyard to commune with the dead.  Blue has never been able to see spirits like the other women in her family, but her presence makes her mother and aunts able to communicate with them more clearly.  On this particular night, however, Blue does see an apparition: one of the students from the local boarding school, who are called the Raven Boys because of the raven crest on their uniforms.  Blue’s mother and aunt tell her that the fact that she saw this boy means that he will die within the year.  Blue is forbidden from having anything to do with them, but a psychic reading at her house introduces Blue to this boy, Gansey, and his friends.  She becomes involved with their search for a ley line, which is a place surrounded by mystical energy, that the guys think will let them awaken a Welsh king named Glendower, who reigned hundreds of years ago.

I have say that I was a little confused by the ley line talk, but at the same time it fascinated me, which led me to look up what a ley line is.  I found out that the principles of ley lines are based on the Chinese concept of feng shui, which is the idea that you can place objects in optimal places that will bring you positive energy, good health, and sometimes even great fortune.  The Raven Boys is the first of a trilogy and I felt like I had more questions than answers at the end of the book, but that didn’t bother me because I feel very invested in the characters and I’m eager to see where their quest takes them in the next two books.  My  favorite thing about this book was trying to figure out who Blue’s true love is and worrying about what will happen if they kiss.  I can’t wait for the next installment of this supernatural romance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

