The Story of Us by Deb Caletti

Call # FIC CAL

I just finished another awesome summer book to go along with Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, which I reviewed in an earlier post. This one is The Story of Us by Deb Caletti.

It’s about Cricket, who has just graduated from high school and is spending the week leading up to her mother’s wedding at a bed and breakfast in a beautiful seaside town. Despite the idyllic setting Cricket feels very unsettled because her longtime boyfriend has broken up with her and she’s worried that her mother is going to leave her fiance at the altar. Cricket’s extended family, including her new stepsisters, and a cute guy staying at the inn complicate matters for her.

I think this is my favorite plot for books or movies: where a bunch of wildly different people are thrown together whether they like it or not. However, this plot device only works if the people thrown together are people you want to read about. I really enjoyed Cricket and her family and I enjoyed every moment of their interactions. The only thing I didn’t like was that a dog figured prominently in the story. If you read one of my earlier posts you know I’m not a big fan of animal stories. However, Deb Caletti is such a good writer that I didn’t even mind that subplot.

I think I’ve read every one of Deb Caletti’s books (and I think the library has all of them). I love her descriptions and the dialogue of her stories. One of my favorites is Stay, which is a story told in flashbacks. Clara and her father have escaped to a remote seaside town to escape her overly possessive boyfriend. You find out the details of their relationship as the book unfolds and even though you know the basics of what happened at the beginning of the book it is still a riveting read. The Story Of Us doesn’t have the same suspense, but I still really liked it.

If you like Deb Caletti’s books I suggest visiting her website because she writes essays about the inspirations for all of her books. Going to her site made me want to reread all of her books.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

